My thoughts on BBQ

Too many times, people look for the word “authentic” in things.

They’re not looking for something that is authentic, just something that says it’s authentic, because really, if something was genuinely authentic, would it need to advertise itself as such?

Take for example, BBQ.

There are many places in Los Angeles that claim to have authentic “southern-style” BBQ.

If you’re reading this and you’re from the south or you’ve ever visited the south for any extended amount of time, your laugh of derision is well-justified.

Which isn’t to say that there is no good BBQ in Los Angeles. It’s just different.

It accepts that it’s different, it doesn’t try to compete with the authentic. It does its own thing. It’s comfortable with that.

And that works.

Maybe it will never win as many awards or get as much recognition as the truly authentic, but then again, that’s not really the point, is it?

But I do love pretzels.

5 comments

  1. As a native Texan, I am genetically predisposed to laugh at Californians and their “BBQ” (also predisposed to put quotation marks around the word BBQ when referring to any other state’s interpretation). Tofu squares dipped in BBQ flavored soy bean paste is not BBQ, you goddamn hippies!

  2. If you’re ever in Kansas City, let me know and I’ll give you my BBQ recommendations. I can also slip Spanish fly into your soda when you’re not looking, so it’s best if you drink bottled water. Wait, did I write down that last part or was I thinking about it? Either way the BBQ is fly here in KC.

  3. New England has the best BBQ. I mean it’s not very good and it’s the only BBQ I’ve ever tried but its the best. Thank you

Leave a Reply

