Rejected :(

Memorial Day Weekend is supposed to be about having fun, right? Well, this hasn’t turned out to be a very happy Memorial Day Weekend for me.

I hadn’t told many people that I had applied to the Cal State Arts video program, because I didn’t want to jinx it. It turns out that was all for nothing, because today I got my rejection letter.

I worked on this video, literally, for months. It’s actually just one of about 50 that I conceived, probably half of which I shot and ten I fully edited. Out of those, this was the best I could do. I know that to be true in my heart.

I know it’s good work. It shows all that I am capable of. But I guess it’s not good enough.

Frankly, I don’t know what the future holds for me and I probably shouldn’t fly off the handle and make any rash decisions right now, while I’m still so upset.

I am going to type out a portion of the rejection letter I received, so you can see what kind of people I am dealing with. It should probably make me feel better that I won’t be associating myself with people like this. People of such ignorance, completely lacking in class. People who would kick someone when they’re already down. Like I said, I should feel better, but I don’t.

“As someone who works closely with the dean of students, I usually don’t take the time to provide any direct feedback on the video submissions we receive, but I believe your video was so extraordinarily awful, it deserves its own comments. Simply put, this is the worst video I have ever seen. Ever. You write about the ‘days and weeks’ it took you to complete this, but I am hard pressed to see how this isn’t just an actual commercial for Sea World that has had the audio track removed and replaced by a poorly-sung, idiotic song of your own creation, followed by 20 seconds of fart sounds. Amateurish fart sounds, I might add. Ones highly lacking in authenticity. In fact, I would suspect this were all some sort of expensive prank (as your $75 application fee is, of course, non-refundable), were it not for the accompanying application, so poorly-written, I suspect you to be mentally challenged and incapable of grasping the concept of humor.”

7 comments

  1. I think you may have invented a new part of speech for that word, definitely a usage I’ve not heard of.
    I think it so majestic that it should replace that old chestnut of an answer to the question: “Sport Celebrity X, you just won competition Y. What are you going to do to celebrate?”

  2. I went and saw the actual sea world commercial. Heck, he’s right, that’s exactly what you did. Just changed the soundtrack and the one you added is awful

Leave a Reply

