Mrs. Wubble Woo

When I was in third grade, our elderly teacher had to take a leave of abscence for surgery and we had a long-term sub.

I’m not going to say her name, but at some point, someone mispronounced her name and ended up calling her “Mrs. Wubble Woo”.

So Mrs. Wubble Woo gives us a spelling test. One of the words is “cookie”.

Easy, right?

Except that THE BOOK spelled it, “cooky”. For the record, you’re right, that’s not a word.

So I take the test, spell cookie as anyone with a brain knows it’s supposed to be spelled, get my test back and see I’ve gotten a 95, because I misspelled ‘cooky’.

“But Mrs. Wubble Woo, that’s how you spell it, the book is wrong!”

In her defense, she’s a sub, what does she care, right? If she gives me the points, then she’s gotta explain to all the other robots who copied it down as they saw it in the book that they were wrong, so I understand. She doesn’t want to deal with it.

“No, it’s spelled ‘cooky’. You’re thinking of the plural form, ‘cookies’.”

I produce a dictionary, to show her. She buys my silence with a piece of candy. End of story.

4 comments

  1. This enrages me to no end.
    What horrific, Great Depression-era dusty commie tome spells this nation’s greatest invention wrong?
    Book burnin’s only way to solve that kinda learnin.

  2. Just too Kooky for my taste since Aoccdrnig to a rscheearch at Cmabrigde Uinervtisy, it deosn’t mttaer in waht oredr the ltteers in a wrod are, the olny iprmoetnt tihng is taht the frist and lsat ltteer be at the rghit pclae.

  3. This is one of the many reasons that I look forward to my teaching career so very much.

    One of the students in a classroom called me “Mrs. Tee” after my name had been said about 15 times.

    Oh and that other part…Yeah, I’m bringing lots of candy.

Leave a Reply

