Thank you, Todd Bridges

Shave your beard, hippie!

Today, I was driving in North Hollywood (which, for you out-of-towners, is just north of Hollywood, LOL!) when I did a double take. Crossing the street, on his bike, was TV’s Todd Bridges. He played “Willis” on the TV show, Diff’rent Strokes.

I quickly rolled down my window and started waving frantically, “Willis! Hey, Willis!” I yelled.

He looked over at me and waved back. I couldn’t believe it! Willis was waving to me!

Well, unfortunately for ol’ Willis, he probably shouldn’t have taken his hands off his bike like that. He lost control and crashed right in front of the crosswalk.

My first inclination was to make a break for it, but I’m glad to say my conscience got the best of me.

I pulled over and got out of my car, walking over to where he fell, as he dusted himself off.

I told him I was awfully sorry about what had happened. He seemed more embarrassed than hurt and tried to play it off like it was no big deal. I was about to ask him for an autograph when he frantically started searching the ground next to his bike.

“My Bluetooth headset!” he cried.

I bent over to help him look. I spotted it behind a fire hydrant and did my best to block it from his view.

“You know, I think it may have fallen down the sewer,” I told him as I pointed out the close proximity to the drain.

“Goddamit, you’re probably right. I don’t see it anywhere,” he said in frustration.

“Me either,” I lied.

I asked him to sign my notebook. At first, he didn’t want to write “What choo talkin’ ’bout, Eric?” but he gave in once I pointed out that I stopped to help him and good deeds should not go unrewarded like that (and they wouldn’t! LOL).

We posed for some pictures with my camera phone and he was off. When I saw he was safely around the corner, I reached down and picked up his bluetooth headset. Except for a little scratch, it was in mint condition!

I took it home and after fiddling with it for a few minutes, I figured out how to get it to work with my phone. Now I don’t have to hold it up to my ear when I am talking. It is also much more convenient for when I am driving.

Some of my friends have complained about the call quality, but I think they can live with it.

In summation, I would like to thank Todd Bridges, the guy who played “Willis” on Diff’rent Strokes, for giving me his bluetooth headset.

I think this goes to prove that when you do the right thing and don’t flee the scene of a crime, sometimes good things happen to you.

8 comments

  1. Well good luck but I’ve never been impressed with bluetooth headsets, it it was me I’d be looking to sue that Hollywood bigshot. After all he played a drug dealer selling to a young version of himself, imagine… your own life creates a lifetime of roles of the people you met in your lifetime, barring a recluse phase he’s got it made.

  2. Well good luck but I’ve never been impressed with bluetooth headsets, if it was me I’d be looking to sue that Hollywood bigshot. After all he played a drug dealer selling to a young version of himself, imagine… your own life creates a lifetime of roles of the people you met in your lifetime, barring a recluse phase he’s got it made.

Leave a Reply

