How to be a successful blogger!

OK, in the absence of any new real blogs, I will share this little tidbit with you.

6 months or so, I wrote a quick little blog about KIRSTIE Alley, the former star of “Cheers” and the Look Who Else Is Talking Also movies.

The blog itself isn’t even about Ms. Alley. It’s not really about anything. It’s stupid, short and nonsensical. And it’s also misspelled.

I called it “Christie Alley” and then I put up a picture of Rosie O’Donnell. This is called “baiting” and it was totally successful. I did that so that people would comment and say things like, “You spelled her name wrong” or “That’s Rosie O’Donnell, you idiot!”

Which they predictably did.

Now, in my blog, I can track which articles are clicked on the most, which search terms readers use to find them, stuff like that. And “Christie Alley” is consistently a top-rated story. As of 10:30 am, I’ve gotten 99 hits on this one. I am guessing this is because she posed in a bikini on Oprah or whatever.

The lesson here is clear: if you want to be a popular blogger, write short, stupid, pointless blogs rife with pop culture references and spelling mistakes.

Seriously. None of my well-written (or at least typo-free) short stories have gotten that many hits in a single day. They’re probably too long and involved. Maybe I’m a bad writer. Who knows?

You know what? I take this all back. I just re-read that blog I wrote. It is stupid, but it’s also pretty funny. I’m sure that has nothing to do with why it’s so popular, but as long as I keep sky-rocketing to the top of the blog charts (which I am not), I’ll be happy! Which I am not.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

